Sir Thomas Jones Woodward KBE (born 7 June 1940) best known by his stage name Tom Jones is a Welsh pop singer particularly noted for his powerful voice. He was born in Treforest near Pontypridd in South Wales. He rose to fame in the mid-1960s with an exuberant live act which included wearing tight breeches and billowing shirts in an Edwardian style popular amongst his peers at the time. He was known for his overt sexuality before this was as common as it became in subsequent years.